“Desireless” – A Song Inspired by Self-Actualization (and Buddhism)

Over the past few months I’ve been ingrained in an almost trance-like psychoanalytical state in an effort to find personal answers and improve as an individual.  I’ve ventured on a type of soul quest that has taken me farther than I ever imagined.  I’ve traveled to personal depths I never thought accessible.  For the first time in my life I’ve been able to fill in the missing pieces.  I’ve found answers to questions such as “Why am I who I am?” – “What are my faults and where do they stem from?” – “How do I find self-fulfillment?” – “What is success?” and so on.  This ride has been nothing short of amazing; I’ve been extremely fortunate to take part in an introspective journey that has changed the way I view myself and the world, for the better.  It’s been one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.

________________________________________________________

“Desireless” – By Igor Kharitonenkov

________________________________________________________

It was only last week that I perhaps had one of my biggest mental breakthroughs throughout this process.  I was having a conversation with a friend and he shared a simple tip with me.  It turned out to be some of the best advice I had yet received; it tied everything that I had learned over the course of the past few months together.  It also inspired me to write this song, “Desireless.”  He told me that in any situation in life, you need to avoid living with expectations.

[Rewind: “It’s Gonna Be Okay” – The Beginning of the Journey of Making Positive Personal Changes]

His small but significant piece of advice triggered flashbacks of broad Buddhist principles I had learned a few years back.  It reminded me about the concepts of desire and attachment, and that the key to happiness and self-fulfillment is letting go of our ‘wants.’  In life we are never guaranteed that we will get what we desire, whatever that may be, and we are only setting ourselves up for disappointment if we live for that desire.  Thus, we shouldn’t get caught up worrying about who or what we can’t control.  We shouldn’t have expectations.  We should try only to find satisfaction in what we can control, which is ourselves.  Everything else will follow in accordance and if we don’t expect anything, we won’t be hurt.  “Desireless” is a song dealing with these concepts.  It also sounds great on an Ipod.  Just sayin’.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration, My Personal Journey

Leave a Reply

